Oct 14, 2019



1104712 jointhecause


Meet the Board

Andrew Weber, Chairman

Andy Weber is a seasoned executive with 25 years of senior management experience in business-to-business and agricultural media. He became the CEO of Farm Journal Media in 2000. Weber was educated at the University of Wisconsin in agricultural journalism. Weber is a frequent media industry speaker and has received numerous industry awards. He serves as chairman of the Farm Journal Foundation, sits on the board of directors of Watt Publishing Company, is a member of the board of trustees of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, a member of the Outsell Leadership Council and a member of the American Business Media Agri-Council.

James Morris

Jim Morris is President of Pacers Sports and Entertainment (Indiana Pacers) and is a Professor of Philanthropy and Public Administration at Indiana University.  He joined the Alliance to End Hunger as an honorary co-chair in 2008. From 2002 to 2007, Morris served as Executive Director of the United Nations World Food Programme and as an Under Secretary General within the United Nations. During his tenure, Morris visited all of WFP’s major operations around the world.  At the same time, Morris met presidents and prime ministers in both the developing and developed world to discuss ways of reducing hunger.  He has a personal commitment to addressing the issue of child hunger around the world.

Morris’ life in public service began in 1967, when he served as the Chief of Staff for Richard Lugar when he was mayor of Indianapolis. Morris received an M.B.A. from Butler University and a B.A. from Indiana University. He has served on numerous local and national nonprofit boards, including: Committee of Co-Sponsoring Organizations for UNAIDS, Indiana University Board of Trustees, United States Olympic Committee, American Red Cross Board of Governors, Global Child Nutrition Foundation, United Way of Central Indiana, Advisory Board for Crossroads Council Boy Scouts of America, Gleaners Food Bank Capital Campaign and as an Elder for the Second Presbyterian Church.

Kip Tom

Kip Tom is CEO and President of Tom Farms, LLC, headquartered near Leesburg, in Kosciusko County, Indiana. The family business is the leader in seed corn production and provides services globally to Monsanto and DuPont. Tom Farms’ seed corn production operations include those in the United States and Argentina. Tom Farms also provides products and services to various other Indiana companies such as Red Gold. Today the business operates over 16,000 acres in Indiana and another 4,000 acres in Argentina. Tom has led a team of consultants on development of seed production operations in Chile, Argentina and Brazil since 1993. Tom serves on the Board of Directors of the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, serving with Governor Mitch Daniels. He also serves as an advisor to the Indiana Department of Agriculture, and previously on the Governor’s Advisory Groundwater Board. He is a member and past chair of the Texas Executive Agriculture Producers Association and a member and past chair of the AAPEX Association of Global Farm Executives. He currently serves as a board member of the DuPont Global Agriculture Advisory Board and John Deere’s Global Advisory Board. Tom has an associate’s degree from Texas A&M in agrcultural economics, and has just completed an Executive MBA course in food and agribusiness at the Harvard School of Business. He also serves on the Board of Directors of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce. At Purdue University he serves on the Dean's Advisory Council. Locally, Tom is a member of the Warsaw Rotary Club, Shiners, Leesburg Lions, and is a United Way industry leader. 

Lyle Orwig

Lyle E. Orwig is a founding partner and CEO of Charleston|Orwig, a full-service communications consultant with core competencies in public relations, issues and crisis management and corporate social responsibility programs. He’s been a member of the National Agri-Marketing Association since 1978, and was named NAMA’s 1999 National Ag Communicator of the Year. In 2001 he and founding partner John Charleston were elected into the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Hall of Fame. Orwig helped to design and implement the strategy that brought the Pettit National Ice Center to Milwaukee, and secured its designation as a U.S. Olympic Training Facility for speed skating. Born and raised on a farm in central Illinois, Orwig called on that agricultural background to help Smithfield Foods, the world’s number one pork producer and processor, develop a communications strategy for the acquisition of Farmland Foods.

Thomas C. Dorr

Thomas C. Dorr is president and chief executive officer (CEO) of the U.S. Grains Council, a non-profit organization that promotes the use of U.S. barley, corn and sorghum and related products worldwide. Dorr coordinates the Council’s worldwide staff and oversees market development activities in more than 50 countries around the world. Prior to his appointment as president and CEO of the Council, Dorr served as USDA Under Secretary for Rural Development, appointed by President George W. Bush in 2002. As Undersecretary for Rural Development, Dorr led programs to expand rural infrastructure, including electric, broadband and water services, rural entrepreneurial efforts and rural housing. Dorr also served as the Chairman of the USDA Energy Council which was responsible for advancing the President’s Energy Initiative to promote the production of domestically grown fuel. Additionally, Dorr has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the 7th District Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, the Iowa Board of Regents, and as a member and officer of the Iowa and National Corn Growers Associations. Dorr, from Marcus, Iowa, graduated from Morningside College with a B.S. degree in business administration and was the president of a family farming and agribusiness company for 29 years


Charlene Finck

Award-winning journalist Charlene Finck became senior vice president, editorial and content development for Farm Journal Media in 2010.  She oversees journalism for all of Farm Journal’s magazines and works closely with the editors of Farm Journal Media’s other outlets such as AgWeb, Pro Farmer, "AgDay" and "U.S. Farm Report" to provide the best integrated coverage of agriculture. Since joining Farm Journal in 1989, Finck has served as machinery editor, machinery and crop production editor and managing editor. Prior to joining Farm Journal, she was associate machinery editor for Successful Farming. An agricultural journalism graduate of the University of Missouri, she has won numerous writing awards throughout her career, including the American Agricultural Editors' Association Writer of the Year award. Her strong ties to agriculture began while working on her family’s diversified farm near Mexico, Mo.

Charles Roth

Chuck Roth has been general manager of Farm Journal Media’s Pro Farmer newsletter division in Cedar Falls, Iowa, since 2004. He also serves on the company’s senior team as vice president, project development and is a member of the Farm Journal Foundation’s board of directors.  He spent more than 20 years in the Chicago area at Farm Progress Companies, including four years as president, prior to joining Farm Journal. He grew up working with his family’s newspaper business in northern Iowa and is a graduate of Iowa State University.





 © 2013 Farm Journal Foundation. All Rights Reserved. Farm Journal Foundation is dedicated to sustaining agriculture’s ability to meet the vital needs of a growing population through education and empowerment.